Menu

2013.3 |

description

p. 98 Mark Janssens
Mystiek met twee vingers
p. 99 Luk Bastiaens
Het orgeldebat in Vlaanderen (2)
p. 100 Anna Rusakova
De geschiedenis van de Russische orgelcultuur
p. 116 Jan Van Mol
De Witheren in de Kempen en hun orgels
p. 132 Nieuwe uitgaven
partituur - CD
p. 136 Berichten
p. 138 Agenda
p. 139 Wilfried Praet
Het Aristide Cavaillé-Coll-orgel (1856) van de Gentse Sint-Niklaaskerk 'gelift'
p. 142 Overzicht tijdschriften

contents

The history of Russion organ culture

Despite its rich musical tradition, Russia is not considered to be one of the classic 'organ countries', initially because the Orthodox Church forbade the use of instruments during liturgy, and later because all religion was suppressed by the Soviets. As a result, the organ was used originally only for relaxation purposes, then later for concerts with performances being restricted to Moscow and St. Petersburg. The second half of the 20th century began to see change in this respect, and since the opening of the country's borders in 1991, the number of organs and organists have been on the rise. In this article, we attempt to give an overview of the history of the organ in Russia. We consider a number of important organists, organ compositions, organs, and organ schools, along with providing a look at the country's new organs and major trends.


The three Kempisch Norbertine abbeys of Flanders

The three Kempisch Norbertine abbeys of Flanders (Averbode, Postel, Tongerlo) have had a significant impact on the economic and cultural development of the region. The abbeys all had organs from the 15th century. Those parishes that were associated with the abbeys were similarly given organs sooner than ordinary village churches.

The Averbode Abbey has an organ by Hipolyte Loret (1861, 4 man/ped), one of the most important examplars of Belgian organs alongside the Schijven organ in the Antwerp cathedral. However, the Loret organ at Averbode has been long out of use. In 1485 Jan Van Gemert built an organ, restored in 1499 following a fire by Jan II van Aren. In 1517 Willem Boets built a new organ which was adapted several times to include new developments: in 1530 and 1540 by Anthonis Toers. Repairs were made by Martin Posselius (1609, 1612), Jan Dillingen (1624), and Jan van Weert (1632-37). In 1562 Giles Brebos was commissioned to build an organ in the style of the one in the Antwerp cathedral. For the new church in 1772, Guillaume Robustelly built a monumental organ (4 man/ped) that was sold to the church of Helmond in the aftermath of the French Revolution, where it still remains today. There was also a small organ present which Jan van Weert repaired. In 1662 Jan Dekens built a small 1-manual organ, restored in 1708 by Christian Penceler. After the reawakening of monastic life in 1834, Arnold Graindorge, who had been involved with the transportation of the Robustelly organ to Helmond, was commissioned to supply a small auxiliary organ. The iconography of the time (Génisson) presents us with some mysteries; it is possible that the old case by Jan Dekens stands right before our very eyes.

The Tongerlo Abbey has an organ by Johannes Klais from 1933 (4 man/ped). This came after the 1929 fire which damaged a smaller Klais organ from 1902. In the 19th century the abbey possessed only a small organ by J.J. Delhaye (1843) which was later under the care of Merklin-Schütze (1856), Ruef (1864), and Drijvers. In 1533 Jan van Liere built a new organ modelled after that of Meerhout: an important step in the development of the Brabant organ. Hans Goltfuss updated this organ in 1642 after a period of neglect. There was restoration work by Christian Penceler (1708-26) but this organ was lost in the French Revolution, along with the small organ. In 1543 Hendrik Niehoff built a small organ for the rode screen, adapted in 1616 by Jan Van Weert.

The Postel Abbey is the only one of the three to still contain the old organ case from the beginning of the 18th century. Sources give us no concrete information as to the organ's history. In 1871 Leonard Drijvers built a romantic instrument using the old case. This was replaced in 1973 by a Neo-Baroque organ (Pels, Hasselt, 3 man/ped).

Of St. Michael's Abbey in Antwerp, the head abbey of Averbode and Tongerlo, we know only that significant musical activity there flourished, but concrete details, including a name of an organ builder, have yet to be established.

Order now

Menu

2013.3 |

description

p. 98 Mark Janssens
Mystiek met twee vingers
p. 99 Luk Bastiaens
Het orgeldebat in Vlaanderen (2)
p. 100 Anna Rusakova
De geschiedenis van de Russische orgelcultuur
p. 116 Jan Van Mol
De Witheren in de Kempen en hun orgels
p. 132 Nieuwe uitgaven
partituur - CD
p. 136 Berichten
p. 138 Agenda
p. 139 Wilfried Praet
Het Aristide Cavaillé-Coll-orgel (1856) van de Gentse Sint-Niklaaskerk 'gelift'
p. 142 Overzicht tijdschriften

contenu

Histoire de la culture d'orgue en Russie

En dépit d'une riche tradition musicale, la Russie ne fait pas partie des pays d'orgues traditionnels, d'abord parce que l'Église orthodoxe ne permet pas l'utilisation d'instruments de musique durant la liturgie, et ensuite à cause de la répression de toutes les religions par les Soviets. Il en résulte que l'orgue est dès l'origine utilisé seulement pour la distraction, plus tard pour le concert, et ce exclusivement à Moscou et Saint-Petersbourg. Dans la deuxième moitié du vingtième siècle, on observe un changement progressif et, après l'ouverture des frontières en 1991, le nombre d'orgues et d'organistes augmente encore davantage. Dans cet article, nous tentons de donner une vue d'ensemble de la situation de l'orgue en Russie. Nous présentons un certain nombre d'organistes, de compositeurs pour orgue, d'instruments et d'écoles d'orgue, ainsi que les plus importantes tendances et nouveaux instruments.


Les trois abbayes norbertines campinoises

Les trois abbayes norbertines campinoises (Averbode, Postel, Tongerlo) ont eu une grande influence sur le développement économique et culturel de la région. Elles possédaient déjà des orgues au XVe siècle. Les paroisses qu'elles administraient s'inscrivaient dans cette tendance et reçurent des orgues avant les paroisses villageoises «normales».

L'abbaye d'Averbode possède un orgue d'Hippolyte Loret (1861, IV/P), une des plus importantes réalisations belges, à côté de l'orgue Schyven de la cathédrale d'Anvers. L'instrument est depuis déjà bien longtemps hors d'usage. En 1485, Jan Van Gemert construit un orgue, réparé en 1499 par Jan II van Aren après un incendie. En 1517, Willem Boets construit un nouvel instrument, qui sera modifié pour suivre l'évolution en 1530 et 1540 par Anthonis Toers. Diverses réparations suivent, par Martin Posselius (1609/12), Jan Dillingen (1624) et Jan van Weert (1632-37). En 1562, on commande à Gilles Brebos un orgue sur le modèle de celui de la cathédrale d'Anvers. En 1772, Guillaume Robustelly construit dans la nouvelle église un orgue monumental (IV/Pa) qui sera vendu, suite à la Révolution française, vendu à l'église d'Helmond, où il se trouve encore aujourd'hui. Il y avait également un petit orgue, réparé par Jan van Weert. En 1662, Jan Dekens construit un petit orgue à un clavier, restauré en 1708 par Christian Penceler. Après le rétablissement de la vie monastique, Arnold Graindorge (qui avait été impliqué dans le déménagement de l'orgue Robustelly à Helmond) reçoit la commande d'un petit orgue «de secours». L'iconographie de l'époque (Génisson) nous pose quelques problèmes. Il se peut qu'on puisse voir ici l'ancien buffet de Jan Dekens.

En l'abbaye de Tongerlo se trouve un orgue de Johannes Klais de 1933 (IV/P), placé après qu'un autre instrument Klais, de 1902, ait été endommagé dans l'incendie de 1929. Durant le XIXe siècle, l'abbaye ne disposait que d'un petit orgue de J. J. Delhaye (1843), auquel travaillent ensuite Merklin-Schütze (1856), Ruef (1864) et Drijvers. En 1533 Jan van Liere construit un nouvel orgue sur le modèle de celui de Meerhout: une étape importante dans le développement de l'orgue brabançon. Hans Goltfuss renouvelle cet orgue en 1642, après une période d'abandon. Il y a encore une restauration par Christian Penceler (1708-26), mais les deux orgues sont perdus à la Révolution française. En 1543 Hendrik Niehoff avait construit sur le jubé un petit instrument, transformé en 1616 par Jos Van Weert.

Seule des trois abbayes, celle de Postel a conservé son buffet d'orgue du début du XVIIIe siècle, au sujet de l'histoire duquel les sources ne nous donnent malheureusement quasiment aucune information concrète. En 1871, Leonard Drijvers construit dans l'ancien buffet un instrument romantique, remplacé en 1973 par un orgue néo-baroque de Pels, Herselt (III/P).

De l'abbaye Saint-Michel d'Anvers, maison-mère d'Averbode et Tongerlo, nous savons seulement qu'elle fut le siège d'une importante activité musicale mais, jusqu'ici, aucun nom de facteur d'orgues n'a pu être mis en rapport avec celle-ci.

Commandez maintenant